Walking the Blog Part 1

Ron Stoloff
Campaign for School Director, 2011

Monday, October 31, 2011

As I’ve been walking the streets of Wissahickon I’ve been very successful when I can actually talk to the people. Most of the time when I use my line, “I was a Philly teacher for 35 years and I think it would be a wild (or great or good) idea that someone on the Board know what it’s like to be in front of a class.”

The look of amazement that crosses their faces before they say, “You mean there isn’t?” Another very common reaction is a smile or a snort.

Neat events

Yesterday I climbed on to a porch in Ambler and saw keys in the lock. I turned around and there were people coming out of cars on the street in front of the house. I asked them if they lived there but they said no, it was their son.

I talked to them – after covering the problem with the keys – for a while, asking them to give the palm card to their son.

Later, after hitting the streets all over the precinct, I was walking back and I heard, “Ron!” I wondered who knew me. I turned around and a guy was running in his stocking feet – this, a day after the greatest October snowstorm in history. I walked back and it turned out to be the guy who left the keys in the door. He told me that he got the card, checked me out on the web and I had his family’s votes.

I thought about how a simple good deed had paid off.

Leave a Reply

